BOURBON’s governance is structured around 2 main governance bodies, the Supervisory Board and the Management Board:


The Supervisory Board oversees the proper functioning of the company and has supervisory powers. Composed of 8 members to date, it reflects a complementarity of experiences and cultures as well as a great expertise of the Oil & Gas and maritime industry:

  • Mr. Jean PEYRELEVADE, former Chairman of several major French financial institutions (including Suez, UAP, Crédit Lyonnais);
  • Mr. Olivier DUBOIS, Director and Deputy Managing Director of SPIE until 2002, a member of Technip’s Executive Committee in 2002, he was Group Finance & Control Managing Director until 2008, then CFO of several companies, including CMA CGM before joining Elior Group in 2013 as CFO and member of the group’s executive committee until 2018;
  • Crédit Mutuel Equity, whose permanent representative is Mrs. Christine DUBUS, Executive Director of Crédit Mutuel Equity, Managing Director of CIC Conseil. A chartered accountant and auditor, Mrs. Christine DUBUS was previously a partner at Mazars for more than 20 years and responsible for the development of activities with medium-sized companies (ETIs);
  • Mr. Laurent TRECA, former head of strategy and development at BNP, then BNP Paribas; he was since 2003 Chairman of Arval.
  • Mr. Carsten PLOUGMANN ANDERSEN, former Vice-President of Maersk group and Maersk Supply Service CEO from 2004 to 2015;
  • Mr. Jean CAHUZAC, CEO and Executive director of Subsea 7 from 2008 until December 2019, with 41 years of experience in the industry (Schlumberger, Transocean);
  • Mr. Yves-Louis DARRICARRERE, a member of Total's Executive Committee from 2003 to 2015, first as President of Gas and Power, then President of Exploration and Production, then President of both combined. He joined Lazard Bank in 2015 as Senior Advisor;
  • Mrs. Florence WEINGARTEN, Group Chief counsel of Transdev, a subsidiary of Caisse des dépôts since 2015, previously in charge of antitrust and regulatory at GDF Suez (now Engie).


Management Board

Formed in mid-2020, the Management Board will be in charge of the strategic and operational management of the group, under the supervision of the Supervisory Board. It will be made up of Gaël Bodénès, Chairman of BOURBON Maritime, who will chair it, and Thierry Hochoa, Group CFO.

Gaël Bodénès now heads the group, supported by Thierry Hochoa.

Gaël Bodénès, Chairman of BOURBON Maritime

Gaël Bodénès graduated in 1991 from ENSIETA (French Navy High School of Naval Engineering) as a naval engineer. He also holds a MBA Degree of HEC Paris (Hautes Etudes Commerciales), 2007.

He began his career for the French Navy (DGA) as a naval engineer in the Newbuilding design department, then joined the sales department of the DCN in Brest (France). In 1998, he joined International Shipbrokers Barry Rogliano Salles as senior offshore shipbroker.

In September 2002, Gaël Bodénès joined BOURBON to supervise the business managment of the international fleet. In September 2005, he was appointed Deputy CEO of Bourbon Offshore, and then Chief Operating Officer of the group in January 2011.

He became Chief Executive Officer in September 2017, with the responsibility of the company management under the executive Chairmanship of Jacques de Chateauvieux.

On January 10, 2020, as Société Phocéenne de Participation acquires 100% of the assets of BOURBON Coporation, Gaël Bodénès is confirmed as the group's leader.

Thierry Hochoa, Group Chief Financial Officer

A graduate of IAE Paris, ESCP Business School and also CPA, Thierry Hochoa began his career in 1994 as an external auditor at Arthur Andersen, then Ernst & Young (EY). 

In 2004, he joined Technip, first as Director of Internal Audit, then held various finance positions at Group level before becoming, in 2011, Corporate Financial Control Director. In 2013, he was appointed Chief Financial Officer of operations in Southeast Asia on the key Yamal project in Shanghai. 

In February 2016, he became Vice-President Finance & Group Controller in Paris and actively worked on the merger and integration project of Technip with the American FMC Technologies.

In April 2018, Thierry Hochoa joined BOURBON Corporation as Director of the financial structuring project for the three Standalone Companies created in the context of the #BOURBONINMOTION strategic action plan.

In August 2018, he is appointed as Chief Financial Officer of BOURBON Corporation.

On January 10, 2020, as Société Phocéenne de Participation acquires 100% of the assets of BOURBON Corporation, Thierry Hochoa is confirmed as Group Chief Financial Officer.



The Supervisory Board is supported by three Committees : the Audit Committee, the Strategy Committee and the Compliance Committee.
Their role is advisory and preparatory to certain deliberations of the Council. They shall issue proposals, recommendations and opinions in their respective fields of competence.

The Audit Committee is composed of the following members of the Supervisory Board :

  • Mr. Olivier Dubois, as member and Chairman of the Audit Committee,
  • Mr Jean Peyrelevade, as a member of the Audit Committee,
  • Crédit Mutuel Equity, as a member of the Audit Committee, represented by Mrs Christine DUBUS.


The Strategy Committee is composed of the following members of the Supervisory Board :

  • Mr Yves Louis DARRICARRERE, as member and Chairman of the Strategy Committee,
  • Mr. Jean CAHUZAC, as a member of the Strategy Committee,
  • Crédit Mutuel Equity, as a member of the Strategy Committee, represented by Mrs Christine DUBUS.
  • Mr Jean PEYRELEVADE, as member of the Strategy Committee.


The Compliance Committee is composed of the following members of the Supervisory Board :

  • Mr Jean Cahuzac, as member and Chairman of the Compliance Committee,
  • Mr Olivier Dubois, as a member of the Compliance Committee


Formerly majority owned by JACCAR Holdings, the assets of BOURBON Corporation were sold to Société Phocéenne de Participation (SPP*) on January 10, 2020, following the judgment ruled by the Marseille Commercial Court on December 23, 2019.

* Company owned by BNP Paribas, Caisse Régionale de Crédit Agricole Mutuel Alpes Provence, Caisse Régionale de Crédit Agricole Mutuel de Paris et d'Ile de France, Crédit Mutuel Equity SCR (formerly known as CM-CIC Investissement SCR), Crédit Lyonnais, Natixis and Société Générale. These institutions are members of the "Enlarged Working Group", a group of BOURBON's creditors representing 75% of the financial debt and including in particular ICBC Leasing.

Bourbon behind the scenes